Worms, Baby! Another Friend Of The Self Sufficient Homestead Garden

Hey Y’all. This is a spontaneous post about the value of worms in your garden. The short version is; you want them. The more the better. Charles Darwin called them, “The soldiers of the soil”. Worms break down organic material and make it extremely nutrient rich. I have started putting worms in my self watering containers and wicking beds. And wow, what a job they’re doing.  I went down to the garden to unload some rabbit manure today and noticed lots of weeds in the wicking beds. My plan was to work on a book after cleaning the rabbit barn, but I got sidetracked by all the worms I was finding. Every time I pulled a weed,there were worms attached to the roots. I ended up weeding all seven wicking beds.

Back in the spring, I put a handful of red wiggler compost worms in 5 of the 7 beds and in a couple self watering container to see how they would do. I periodically feed the worms with manure and straw from the rabbit barn. Well…just watch this video (ignore the quality. I don’t do video much}

 

What’s been your experience with worms in the garden? Do you have your own worm beds? We’d love to hear about your experiences, or to hear your questions. After all, we’re all in this together.

3 thoughts on “Worms, Baby! Another Friend Of The Self Sufficient Homestead Garden

  1. That mix sounds like a perfect red wiggler heaven Sam. I’ll be interested to see how things are in the Spring. Even if the worms don’t survive the cold, they tend to lay eggs as they sense the end. I’m trying a similar experiment on a smaller scale in my Michigan garden. Great looking beds!

    • Thanks. It’s been a mild winter here, so far. I have one small box of worms in the greenhouse just to be safe. I’ll move two more in there tomorrow. While it gets cold at night, all we need is a little sunshine and it warms up nicely in there.

      I read your vermicomposting blog posts and enjoyed them very much. I look forward to reading more of your gardening ideas.

Leave a Reply

