Project Self Sufficiency – Day 2

Buckets in dire need of some attention

Buckets in dire need of some attention

Yesterday was a gorgeous day, but I didn’t do a great deal in the garden. Mostly, I went to the library to work on a book I’m writing. When I got home, I saw some of our rabbits had escaped from their rabbit rangers (more about that in a future episode) and were running around the pasture. So, I spent the next hour chasing down bunnies. Oh, the glamorous life of a small farmer!

While I didn’t work long on the garden, I am very happy with what I accomplished. I managed to pull the plants out of all 23 bucket containers, clean off the roots and get the buckets into the greenhouse, where in 1 month I will plant them with sugar snap peas. I also emptied a few of the grow bags into compost heap.

The buckets were planted with peppers, tomatoes and eggplant. The roots spread through the whole container and fight hard to stay there. Its a very good bicep and triceps workout; and you don’t even need to go to the gym.

Ready for planting in January

Ready for planting in January

It’s always good for the body AND soul to work up a sweat. When you can do that working outside in December, well, it’s just a darned good day!

A good sweat. Sorry for wearing an Oklahoma shirt in public :-)

A good sweat. Sorry for wearing an Oklahoma shirt in public 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

