Economy Up. Economy Down. The Debt Free Never Worry.

One of the great things about being debt free (except our mortgage), is the lack of worry about the economy.  Oh, I don’t like the way things are going, but I can’t make the Government take responsibility for their finances, but I refuse to let Washington ruin my life with their irresponsibility.

Here’s the deal.  Brittan and I have zero debt apart from Mortgage stuff.  We have no car payments, no credit card balances, no student loans. We live on what we like to call… A BUDGET.  It looks like this:

1. Tithe – God Comes First

2. Food – Because we grow most of our own food, our grocery bills are fairly low

3. Shelter – House, utilities, insurance

4. Transportation – gas, oil, maintenance

Those are the 4 perimeter walls of our budget. Once those are taken care of, we budget the other things we need and want. Since we have no debt, budgeting has become pretty easy.

We have an emergency supply of about 6 months cash and a year of food and basic staple goods. We also have 2 years supply of seeds and livestock to raise our own food.  By the end of 2012 we should have over a year’s emergency fund and up to 2 years supply of staples. 

At the risk of sounding like an infomercial, if you’d like to know how you could be debt free FOREVER by following ‘the simplest money management plan on earth’, check out www.iounomore.com.  Don’t let the headlines make you worry. Take control of your own future and sleep in peace.

 

 

 

One thought on “Economy Up. Economy Down. The Debt Free Never Worry.

  1. Great post. I too am a Christian and my husband and I are working towards getting debt free once more. I wrote a post earlier tonight and happened upon yours when I looked at similar tags. The post is something I’m doing for my English course in college, and I planned on sharing a bit about trusting God when job hunting, but decided to save that for a different blog I have on word press.

    I hope to start another blog about Biblical principles etc.

    My post is:http://marsha4852.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/improving-ones-lot/ (if you want to peek at it).

    God bless you and your family,
    Marsha

Leave a Reply

